about us banner

Board of Health

Making a Difference in the Community

The Board of Health for Peterborough Public Health is responsible for the assessment, planning, delivery, management and evaluation of a variety of public health programs and services in our community. We are one of 36 public health boards in Ontario who are mandated by the provincial government through the Health Protection and Promotion Act to implement the Ontario Public Health Standards. Our thirteen-member board functions autonomously and is one of only a few boards of health in the province with First Nations, municipal and provincial representatives serving together. Non-voting members of our Board of Health include the Medical Officer of Health, the Director of Operations and the Assistant Director/Chief Nursing and Privacy Officer).

We serve the following communities in the Greater Peterborough Area:

Curve Lake First Nation

Hiawatha First Nation

Township of Asphodel-Norwood

Township of Cavan Monaghan

Township of Douro-Dummer

Township of Havelock-Belmont-Methuen

Township of North Kawartha

Township of Otonabee-South Monaghan

Township of Selwyn

Municipality of Trent Lakes

City of Peterborough

County of Peterborough

(County Council is comprised of members from the 8 lower-tier municipalities)

Guided by the principles of the social determinants of health, our Board of Health also advocates for important policy changes to improve public health at the local, provincial and federal levels. To see the many ways Public Health is making a positive difference in our community, read our latest Annual Report.

Not pictured below: Catherine Praamsma, Michael Williams, Councillor Kathryn Wilson

Board of Health members